Local Resources

Crisis Centers/Helplines

Agora Crisis Center

Statewide help line and walk-in clinic

1716 Las Lomas NE

Albuquerque, NM 87131

Statewide Toll Free: 1-866-HELP-1-NM (435-7166)

Local: 505-277-3013

www.agoracares.org

Suicide Prevention Lifeline

1-800-273-8255/ 1-800-273-TALK

Available 24 hours a day.

Back to the Top

New Mexico Resources/Statistics

New Mexico Department of Health

http://www.health.state.nm.us/

New Mexico Department of Health – Youth Risk and Resiliency Report 2005

http://www.health.state.nm.us/pdf/2005YRRSStatewideReport.pdf

New Mexico Department of Health – Youth Risk and Resiliency Report 2005 (County by County)

http://www.health.state.nm.us/yrrs.html

Office of the Medical Investigator

OMI releases a yearly report on death in New Mexico

MSC11 6030

1 University of New Mexico

Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

Phone: 505-272-3053

http://omi.unm.edu/

Back to the Top

GLBT Support

http://education.nmsu.edu/projects/borderalliance/resources.html

The Borderlands Alliance for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Research is committed to creating and maintaining safe and responsive communities for people at various points on the sexual orientation and gender continua.The Borderlands Alliance is a non-profit organization based in Las Cruces, New Mexico within the College of Education at New Mexico State University.

Transgender Support

The S. U. R. E. Foundation®, (Sensitivity, Understanding, Respect through Education) is an Educational Outreach Organization, specifically answering inquiries through Lectures and/or Workshops, concerning all aspects of Transgender issues.

We specialize as Objective Arbitrators, for families, relatives, friends, work place environments, as well as any other area where individuals are beginning to Transition.

Mekah Gordon, Ph.D., L. E. at SUREducation@aol.com

Local Survivor Specific Sites

Albuquerque Survivors of Suicide

www.sosabq.org

Children’s Grief Center of New Mexico, Inc.

Sunset Mesa School

3020 Morris NE

Albuquerque, NM

Phone: 505-323-0478

www.childrensgrief.org

Gerard’s House: A Safe Place for Grieving Children, Teens, and their Families

PO Box 28693

Santa Fe, NM 87592

Phone: 505-424-1800

www.gerardshouse.org

Back to the Top

Suicide Prevention Groups Statewide

This list is not complete. The NMSPC makes every attempt to keep this list updated; however contacts change often. Please let us know of any contact changes you encounter so we can update this list.

  • Raton Suicide Prevention Task Force/Colfax County LBHC & Community Action Committee.  Contact: Jeremy Topping

505-566-5877

ccmchp@bacavalley.com

  • Los Alamos Suicide Prevention Coalition Contact: Georgina Williams505-663-2782mailto:g.Williams@laschools.net
  • New Mexico Suicide Intervention Project (NMSIP); Northern NM servicesContact: Cynthia Gonzales505-820-1066nmsip@aol.com
  • NM Assembly on School-Based Health Carestatewide services www.nmassembly.orgContact: Howard Spiegelman505-466-3222
  • DOH/Office School and Adolescent Health/ Youth Suicide Prevention CoordinatorContact: Nancy KirkpatrickPhone: (505) 222-8683Nancy.Kirkpatrick@state.nm.us
  • Quay County LBHC& Maternal Child & Community Health Council Contact: Alida Brown

505-461-4218

alida@plateautel.net

  • Carlsbad Suicide Prevention Task Force/Eddy County LBHC & Health Council Contact: Candace Autry

505-887-1039

cautry@co.eddy.nm.us

  • Las Cruces Suicide Prevention Workgroup/Jason Foundation & LBHC Contact: Susie Kimble575-382-3500Susie.kimble@psysoultions.com
  • Border Area Mental Health Suicide Prevention Crisis Response Project Contact: Susan Wilger505-574-4653swilger@bamhs.com
  • Gallup Area Suicide Prevention Workgroup

    Contact: Ellen Krumm505-721-1885ellenkrumm@aol.com
  • Taos County Golden Willow Suicide Prevention grossman@taos.netContact: Bruce Grossman 505-758-7835
  • Suicide Prevention Coalition Building in Native American CommunitiesContact: Susan Casias505-401-9382

scowkr@earthlink.net

Many Regional Local Behavioral Health Collaboratives (LBHC) and Health Councils are working on regional suicide prevention efforts. Contact these offices today to see what work is being done in your area and learn about local resources. Note the LBHC are regional. Many contacts serve several counties. If unsure, contact lead listed below.

Local Collaborative Lead

Contact: Amy Buchanan

505-528-5102

Amy.Buchanan@state.nm,us

Native American LBHC

Contact: Gus Abeita

505-771-5363

gusabeita@yahoo.com

Acoma Pueblo

Contact: Rhonda Padilla

505-552-9426

enccowgirl@yahoo.com

Bernalillo County LBHC

Contact: Sara Couch

crabbiecake@hotmail.com

Bernalillo County Community Health Council

Contact: TBA

505-314-0319

www.berncohealthcouncil.org

Catron County Health Council

Contact: Ann Menges

505-533-6267

ameng@gilanet.com

Chaves County Health Council

Contact: Lila Doyle

505-623-8637

Reach2000@dfn.com

Cibola County LBHC & Health Council

Contact: Laura Malaj

505-285-3542

future@7cities.net

Cochiti Pueblo Health Council

Contact: Helene Quintanta

505-465-3121

Helene_Quintana@pueblodecochiti.org

Colfax-see above suicide prevention list

Curry County Health Council

Contact: Terri Marney

505-769-7151

tmarney@phs.org

De Baca County Health Council

Contact: Cheryl Butterfield

505-355-2381

cherylb@nmsu.edu

Dona Ana County Health Council

Contact: Jamie Michael

505-525-5872

silvias@co.dona-ana.nm.us

Eddy Co. -see above list under suicide groups

Grant County Health Council

Contact: Beverly Allen-Ananins

505-388-9708

allen-ananins@grmc.org

Guadalupe County LBHC & Health Council

Contact: JoAnn Rivera-Velasquez

505-472-4567

gchc@plateautel.net

Harding County Health Council

Contact: Arlene Aragon

505-673-2332

arlenearagon@hotmail.com

Hidalgo County LBHC & Health Council

Contact: Donna Adams

505-542-8384

dadams@hmsnm.org

Lea County Health Council

Contact: Patty Collins

505-393-7374

pattycvan@valornet.com

Lincoln County Health Council

Contact: Nancy La Pointe

505-257-1877

Lincoln_chc@charterinternet.com

 

Luna County Health Council

Contact: Megan Pierro

505-543-6854

megan@lunacountynm.net

McKinley County LBHC

Contact: Genevieve Robran

505-863—2847

Genevieve_robran@pmsnet.org

McKinley County Health Council

Contact: Ophelia Reeder

505-863-5107

Ophelia_reeder@pmsnet.org

Mora County LBHC & Health Council

Contact: Antonio Medina

505-387-2883

Antonio@acequiaweb.org

Otero County Health Council

Contact: Lee Ann Loney

505-443-8100

Oteromch@netmdc.com

Presbyterian Health Care

Contact: Beth Beers

505-835-8709

bbeers@phs.org

Quay County see above suicide group list

Rio Arriba LBHC

Contact: Laura Reichelt

lreichelt@rafcan.org

Rio Arriba Health Council

Contact: Jessica Salazar

505-753-3143

jsalazar@rafcn.org

Roosevelt County LBHC & Health Council

Contact: Theresa Teti

505-226-6456

terryteti@msn.com

Sandoval County Health Council

Contact: Niki Baptiste

505-771-7941

nikibaptiste@sandovalcounty.com

San IIdefonso Pueblo Health Council

Contact: Claudene Martinez

505-455-2273

camartinez@sanipueblo.org

San Juan County Health Council

Contact: Rose Lopez

505-566-5877

cpc@sjcpartnership.org

San Miguel LBHC & Health Council

Contact: Yolanda Cruz

505-454-1401

smhealthcouncil@desertgate.com

Santa Fe County Health Council

Contact: Lisa Garcia

505-995-9527

Imgarcia@co.santa-fe.nm.us

Sierra County Health Council

Contact: Aspen ni Wood

505-894-5961

sierracommunity@zianet.com

Socorro County LBHC & Health Council

Contact: Bobby Jo McIntire

505-835-2444

bmcintire@socorromentalhealth.org

Taos County &LBHC Health Council

Contact: Rose Gordon

505-776-8705

taoscares@newmex.com

To’Hajiilee Community Action Team

Contact: Paulene Shabala

505-980-2846

Mizball10@yahoo.com

Torrence County Health Council

Contact: Billie Clark

505-832-0332

pmanager@lobo.net

Valencia County LBHC

Contact: Peggy Chavez

505-514-3025

chavezp@belen.k.12.nm.us

Valencia County Health Council

Contact: Edwina Moya

505-865-3999

emoya@ydinm.org

Union County Health Council

Contact: Judith Cooper

505-374-2993

jcooper@plateautel.net

Back to the Top

Active Suicide Survivor Support Groups

Albuquerque

Survivors of Suicide

12010 Dusty Rose Rd., NE

Albuquerque, NM 87122

Group Name: Survivors of Suicide

Contact Person: Richard Schwoebel

(505) 858-1240

www.sosabq.org

Leadership Type: P/P

Meetings/Month: 2

Charge: No

Newsletter:Yes

Las Cruces

Group Name: Las Cruces Suicide Survivors

Contact Person: Mona Medina Wood

(505) 647-4747

Leadership Type: Peer Counseling available by phone only

Santa Fe

St Michaels Village Shopping Center

1628 St. Michaels Drive

Santa Fe, NM 87505

Group Name: Santa Fe Suicide Survivors

Contact Person: Joan Murphy

(505) 670-6788

Janet Schreiber

(505) 690-1698

Meetings/Month: 2 – 1st and 3rd Thursdays, 6 to 7:30 PM

Leadership Type: Peer

Charge: No

Newsletter:

Back to the Top